Why my little brothers think I’m not cool

Recently, I went to visit some family members down South and spent some time with my teenage brothers. Although I only see them once a year, my little brothers wanted very little to do with me and threw plenty of shade my way.  Here are some reasons why they think I’m not cool enough for them.

  1. I prefer Snapchat to Instagram. IMG_1732Reportedly 3% of teens use Snapchat, whereas Instagram attracts 13%, according to Pew Research Center, although both social media platforms have a large amount of the 18-29 demographic, 60% and 55% respectively.  I asked my younger brothers what they thought of the recent launch of  Instagram Stories (which they copied from Snapchat) and they said they preferred Snapchat’s Stories. YES!
  2. I know all of the Kardashians’/Jenners’ spouses and former flames.kardashians jenners red bkgrnd picKim had a brief marriage to NBA Basketball player Kris Humphreys, now she’s married to “Yeezus,” Rapper Kanye West. Khloe is married to her estranged (and a hot mess) husband former NBA Basketball player Lamar Odom…I could go on and on.
  3. I can explain why the Kardashians/Jenners have beef with Amber Rose and Blac Chyna.
  4.  I don’t eat pork BBQ or ham.
  5. I believe in God, yet I respect people who disagree with my religious beliefs.
  6.  I love Naked and Afraid but don’t care much for Survivornaked-afraid7. I can speak French and talk bad about my little brothers to my mom without them having a clue what we’re talking about.

8. I’m almost 30 years old. GASP!

IMG_1778

For the aforementioned reasons, they made fun of me and called me “old.” It’s strange to think that I was probably as rude and uninterested in the world as them at their ages, 14 and 16. In my teens, my attention was geared towards the sports I participated in, cute boys and early ’00s pop/rock bands. Anyone who didn’t know who Evanescence was or hadn’t watched 24 were completely moronic and undeserving of my time. As an adult, I’ve accepted the fact that I’m not a Vine star, but I deserve the respect that a college graduate and international traveler should get from today’s youth. The world is whatever is on social media and video platforms, according to today’s youth, and if it requires physical or mental skills, it’s invalid. What a shame it is to realize that young people are stuck in a self-imposed bubble of ignorance and when they turn 20, it pops without any warning. My duty as an older sister is to protect them and advise them on how to conduct themselves throughout their lives. If they are unable to accept my insight and positive criticisms, then they are in for a rude awakening. I will still love those little brats, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

