Weird interview questions for $200, Alex.

Job interviews can be tedious, mentally draining and in my case, physically tiresome. I recently went on a job interview for a “marketing” firm and met many people from the company with different positions. The first person asked me the standard questions, “Tell me about yourself” and “What do you look for in a position?” Then came a question from the third person that completely shocked me, but I still provided a great answer.

The interviewer asked, “What do Barack Obama, Adolf Hitler and Michael Jackson have in common?” It was like I was a contestant on Jeopardy.  I was standing outside, in full formal business attire, in 95 degree weather and briefly thought I was losing my mind, but I knew I had to answer it. Did I unconsciously say, “I’ll take weird interview questions for $200, Alex”? It surely felt like the person was testing me, but I didn’t let the awkward and politically incorrect question stump me.  After I gave my answer, the interviewer stood there silent, in amazement for a few seconds. The interviewer praised me for my quick thinking and “unique” answer.

Ultimately, I found out that the company was a pyramid scheme and I did not accept their offer. I had a feeling something was amiss when all of the people in the office were under 30 years old, it ran two other “businesses” and there were no desks, only lounge chairs and folding TV trays that the employees used to place their laptops on. The fact that the third interviewer was MUCH younger than me and held a high position was a dead giveaway that this was an illegitimate company.  My eyes have been opened and I know what to avoid during my ongoing job hunt.

Leave a Reply

